Links to 10 ‘novel’ ideas for splendid literary journeys from CNN International

Leave a comment

Don’t know how I missed this  but am glad to have happened upon the article anyhow. Here is a recent listing from CNN International on 10 decidedly global ‘novel’ ideas the bookish soul may want to consider for a splendid literary journey cum vacation.  Although my personal tastes are slightly more alternative, there are some delightful favourites I could consider. Overall, I do like the listing that resurrects a memorable story stretching from East to West, to new life.

Tenderly conjured up from fictitious plots are Haruki Murakami’s Norwegian Wood, Sylvia Plath’s partly autobiographical The Bell Jar, Ernest Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises, Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina and what I consider to be my personal favourites… Orhan Pamuk’s The New Life – Istanbul and Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress by Dai Sijie, among others. I watched Dai Sijie’s heartwarming story in its dazzling cinematic version – I have the dvd in my collection – and what  breathtaking scenery indeed, all sitting pretty in China’s mountain villages in Hunan Province. – susan abraham

Here are the links to CNN’s literary journeys. Each links holds a listing of five famous plot locations:

The first five of 10 novel travel ideas &
The second five of 10 novel travel ideas.

Credit: Photograph of Turkish men on an Istanbul street, courtesy of Free pictures of cities
Bookmark and Share